SAARC AGREEMENT ON RAPID RESPONSE TO NATURAL DISASTERS

(Signed at the Seventeenth SAARC Summit) Addu City, Maldives, 10-11 November 2011)

The Member States of the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC), comprising the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan, the People's Republic of Bangladesh, the Kingdom of Bhutan, the Republic of India, the Republic of Maldives, Nepal, the Islamic Republic of Pakistan and the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka, hereinafter referred to as the Parties;

Reaffirming their commitment to the objectives and principles of the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) as enshrined in its Charter;

Concerned at the increasing frequency and scale of natural disasters in the South Asian region and their damaging impacts both short-term and long-term;

Reiterating the commitment of the SAARC Comprehensive Framework on Disaster Management to develop an efficient disaster management system which professionalizes disaster management system and strengthens emergency response system in the Region;

Guided by the Declaration of Fifteenth SAARC Summit to create a Natural Disaster Rapid Response Mechanism to adopt a coordinated and planned approach to provide timely relief and humanitarian assistance in emergencies arising out of natural disasters;

Convinced that the regional cooperation on disaster response should be institutionalized through an Agreement among the Member States;